Vai al menu principale- Vai ai contenuti della pagina[0] Home[H]


    A month of events!


    Sign up for the Hackaton!


    Urban development in Mumbai


Tourism, Milan, UNESCO World Heritage City

Milan is a gateway, front door of Italy and Europe

Milan is strategically sited in the middle of Europe as well as enjoying good communications with some of the loveliest places in Italy. Cities of historic importance such as Bergamo or Genoa can be reached in a few hours; or so can Lake Como, the “Cinque Terre”, the Alps, the Alpine Lakes, and the vineyard-clad hills of franciacorta and astigiano. The Swiss and French borders are less than two hours away; and now, thanks to budget airlines and a highly-developed network of infrastructure, it’s easy to visit Venice, Rome, Florence or Madrid from Milan, centre of Europe

Milan and its region

The region around Milan is Lombardy, famous for lakes, mountains, history and art. A great variety of landscapes lie within a few kilometres of the city: rows of citrus and olives trees on the banks of the lakes whose waters reflect alpine landscapes (Maggiore lake, Garda lake, Como and Lecco lake, and Iseo lake )

Tours around Lombardy


"Mediolanum" (Milan) is the Latinized form of "Medhelanon" meaning "sanctuary". It was founded by the Insubres around 600 BCE: according to a legend retailed by the Roman historian Livy, a chief of that Celtic tribe, one Bellovaso, found a mythological animal known as the "half-woolly sow" ("in medio lanae") which was certainly a symbol of the City of Milan in the Middle Ages

The image of a "half-woolly sow" or "scrofa semilanuta" can still be seen on a bas-relief brought to light in 1233 during the excavations for the Palazzo della Ragione and later inserted into the wall of the second arch of that building in via Mercanti

more on Milan’s history

Milan Guide
/ Visiting Milan / Tour in Milan

more info


Italy has fifty sites on the World Heritage List and one of them is in Milan, the Church and Dominican Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie with The Last Supper by Leonardo da Vinci the unrivalled masterwork painted between 1495 and 1497, whose work inaugurated a new era in the history of art. The refectory of the Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie forms an integral part of this architectural complex, begun in Milan in 1463 and reworked at the end of the 15th century by Bramante

Lombardy Region has 9 recognized Unesco sites, vaunting the highest concentration in Italy. The sites range from prehistoric archaeological (Camuni rock carvings) to the industrial archaeology of the workers' village of Crespi d'Adda, from the sophisticated artistry of Leonardo da Vinci's to the religious power of the region's sacred mountains, the Sacri Monti, and from the natural scenic beauties traversed by the Bernina Railway to the architectural gems of Mantova and Sabbioneta, passing through centuries-old sites from the Lombard era to reach into prehistory itself: the rich heritage of Monte San Giorgio and the prehistoric pile-dwellings of the Alpine region

The first Italian site to be included (in 1979) on UNESCO’s World Heritage List was Camonica Valley, world famous as "The Valley of Landmarks" for its outstanding wealth and variety of engraved rock art, a truly unique place of beauty and delight, where people have responded to the environment since prehistoric times.

More about Lombardy Heritages sites